Wednesday, February 10, 2010


The MHF Management Committee opted for the trio of K. Dharmaraj, K. Gobinathan and Nor Azlan Bakar as the coaching team for the next Junior World Cup squad instead of the recommendations submitted by the Coaching Committee.

The CC had put up a list that comprised of K. Rajan, Nasir Mydin and Dharma but the Management Committee opted to go the way of the Team Management Committee that met last month.

This decision is a snack fir the CC and it is left to be seen if the Chairman Dr. Balbir Singh will go ahead with his decision to quit if the recommendations by the CC were not accepted by the Management Committee.

Stephen van Huizen received the nod to take charge of the Senior Team together with Tai Beng Hai.

Dutchman Roelant Oltmans it is learnt will join the national set-up this May, in time for the Azlan Shah Cup but will come alone with no assistant from Holland joining him.

This means that Stephen and Beng Hai will coach the team for the inaugural AHF Champions Trophy scheduled for April 13 to 18 in Ipoh.

The Under 16 squad will be coached by S. Velappan who will be assisted by S. Prakash and Manjit Singh from Perak.

With Ow Soon Kooi having declined the offer to jointly manage the national team, the task has now been entrusted to George Koshy and MHF Vice President Datuk Dr. Surinder Singh Cheema.

MIrnawan Nawawi has been reinstated as the National Juniors Team Manager despite not being available for 3 vital events last year and will manage the side with another MHF Vice President M.Gobinathan.

For the Under 16 team, Tuan Haji Johari Aziz, the President of KLHC and Vice President of KLHA has been named as the Manager.

Meanwhile the Tun Razak Cup, initially scheduled to be held in Johor will now be held in Kuantan following the decision by the former to decline following the demise of Sultan of Johor on January 23.