Tuesday, July 27, 2010


While the Razak Cup enticed 100 Plus to sign as title sponsors for the next three years, there was not much joy for the states.

For no indication was given if the prize money will be increased nor was there any confirmation of any subsidies to be provided to the affiliates who will incur a high cost for participation as it will now take 10 weeks to complete the tournament.

The change in format will see five zones being created with four teams in each zone ( see below for groupings ).

In the past Razak Cup was contested over a ten day carnival with states been given a RM5,000 subsidy. And even then the states lamented over the fact that it cost them some RM15,000 to participate.

And with the carnival still being retained for the top ten teams, states will have to fork out more for the league matches as they will have to travel and train for a longer period.

100 Plus has committed RM200,000 in cash and RM300,000 in kind per year and with a bulk, RM80,000 going towards prize money and another RM90,000 as subsidies based on the current practice of giving RM5,000 per affiliate.

"This event produced many world class players and gave an opportunity for selectors to unearth new talents," said Tengku Abdullah.

"However it needs a face lift hence the introduction of the zonal format to ensure that hockey is played over two months instead of the current two weeks.

When asked if there will be an increase in prize money, Tengku Abdullah said that they will consider it and had yet to make a decision.

The Zonal Groupings

North- Perlis, Kedah, Penang, ATM

Central - Kuala Lumpur, Perak. Selangor, National Under 16

South- Johor, Singapore, Malacca, Negeri Sembilan

East - Terengganu, Kelantan, Pahang and PDRM.

West - Sabah, Sarawak, Labuan, Brunei.