Wednesday, March 16, 2011


Perak will field mostly reserves in their final Group B match against Kelantan tomorrow after booking a place in the semi finals of the tournament.

Also qualifying for the semis were hosts and defending champions Kuala Lumpur who trashed Selangor 4-0.

Having assured themselves of the top spot of the group and a place in Saturday’s semis after defeating Negri Sembilan 4-2, Perak do not want their players to be injured for the last four.

And that is bad news for Negri as they were counting on Perak to defeat Kelantan thus paving the way for them to sneak into the last four.

"We have several players injured and we want to rest them so they will be fresh for the semis on Saturday," said Perak coach Shukor Adam.

"We rather give those on the bench match practice as they can prove their worth for a place in the starting XI for the semis.

"Its not that we are giving the match away as we will do our best to win and maintain our unbeaten run.”

Perak took the lead in the 14th minute through Muhd Ashran Hamsani. But Negri hit back with goals from Mohd Shafieq Amirul (44th minute) and Muhd Ikwan Ishak (51st minute) to take a 2-1 lead.

However their joy was shortlived as Perak made it all square three minutes later through Muhd Khairul Adha Ilyas who converted a penalty corner.

Mohd Luqman Hakim Asri put Perak 3-2 ahead in the 57th minute before Khairul converted a penalty stroke in the 63rd minute to put the issue beyond doubt.

Meanwhile Malacca defeated PDRM 3-0 while Johor and Sabah played to a 3-3 draw.

Malacca joined Kuala Lumpur into the semis from Group A following Selangor’s defeat.

Results – Wednesday

Group B
Kelantan 1 Penang 2
Terengganu 1 Perlis 1
Kedah 4 Singapore 1

Group A
Perak 4 Negri Sembilan 2
Malacca 3 PDRM 0
Kuala Lumpur 4 Selangor 0
Johor 3 Sabah 3

Fixtures : Thursday

Group A

0830H - Selangor v Johor (KPM Stadium)
0900H - Pahang v Sabah
2000H - Kuala Lumpur v Malacca

Group B

1530H - Perlis v Singapore
1700H - Perak v Kelantan
1830H - N.Sembilan v Kedah
1830H - Penang v Terengganu (KPM Stadium)