Thursday, May 19, 2016

Hockey Feast In October

It will be back to back Hockey for Malaysia this October and November.

From October 20 to 30, the Asian Champions Trophy will be held in Kuantan, Pahang.

The countries taking part are defending champions India, Pakistan, Japan, Korea, China, Malaysia, Bangladesh.

A day later at the Taman Daya Hockey Stadium in Johor Baru, the Sultan of Johor Cup will get underway.

The junior invitational tournament from October 31 to November 1 will see Australia, Japan, New Zealand, Pakistan, England and Malaysia  in the fray.

Across the causeway  from October 29 to November 6, the women's Asian Chanpions Trophy will be held in Singapore.

The five countries involved are India, Korea, China, Japan and Malaysia.

These three tournaments will give a perfect indication on where Malaysian Hockey is headed after several changes initiated by the Malaysian Hockey Confederation.

All the three Malaysian teams participating in these tournaments will be playing in the Australian National League in September/October.

The venue Abd dares for the Asian Champions Trophies were determined by the Asian Hockey Federation that met in Dubai on Thursday, chaired by its President Tengku Abdullah Sultan Ahmad Shah,

The Executive Board of AHF also confirmed that for the Asian Champions Trophy ,continental ranking points will be awarded for the first time.

In addition countries that do not participate in the Asian Games , Asia Cup and Asian Champions Trophy will not be allowed to play in the relevant qualifiers for the World Cup and Olympics

The Asian Ganes and Asia Cup will remain as a qualifier for the World Cup and Olynpics.

A new logo for AHF was also presented and will be revealed soon.