Wednesday, October 20, 2010


The Air Asia team, which is in actual fact the national Project 2013 team, lost both their pool matches thus far in the 27th Indian Oil Servo Surjit Hockey Tournament being held in Jalandhar, Punjab, India.

Placed in Pool C, the Air Asia team as it's listed on the official tournament website, lost their opening match 1-2 ion 17th October against Army XI Delhi.

Army opened scoring in the 25th minute via a penalty corner converted by Rajesh Lakra and doubled their lead two minutes later via a field goal scored by Arumugam.

Air Asia reduced the deficit with a penalty corner converted by Mohd Noor Faeez Ibrahim in the 38th minute.

In their second match played yesterday, Air India Mumbai defeated Air Asia Malaysia 7-2.

Air Asia however took the lead in the 6th minute with a goal scored by Amir Farid.

But Air India Mumbai went 6-1 ahead thanks to goals by VS Vinay (8th minute), Sandeep Michel (11th minute), M. Amir Khan ( 19th minute), Joga Singh ( 24th minute), VS Vinay (34th minute) and Dhanraj Pillay ( 50th minute).

Air Asia reduced the deficit through Faiz in the 51st minute but Lalit Upadhayay scored in the 56th minute.

Now can someone from MHF explain why the team representing is using the name Air Asia?

It is a tough tournament mind you as YNS played there as well and credit to the players for their ability, but why did MHF not name it Air Asia - Project 2013?