Tuesday, January 31, 2012


It was more then a month ago that the Malaysian Hockey Federation (MHF) was dissolved and the Malaysian Women Hockey Association (MWHA) followed suit a week later. For historical significance, the dates were December 17 and December 23 respectively.

However checks with the Sports Commissioner's Office in early January revealed that neither body had sent in the official forms citing the dissolution and hence it was surprising that the Malaysian Hockey Confederation (MHC) was calling for entries for the Junior Hockey League that is already at its halfway stage.

And while one continues to ponder on the status of MHF and MWHA, hockey activities are ongoing, albeit through the respective bodies, though on paper the men's body have started calling themselves as MHC.

Which leave a question mark on the legality of actions being undertaken by both bodies. And with a player in the MHC-MILO-NSC Junior Hockey League being shown a red card, it will be interesting to see what action and the composition of the Disciplinary Board should the matter be referred to the DB.

Another interesting issue is on the composition of the MHC Council for besides the President and Deputy President, there will be a total of 12 Vice Presidents, with two being accorded the status of Senior Vice Presidents.

MWHA has already decided on their composition of officials and what is interesting is that they have nominated their Secretary, Prof Dr. S. Shamala as the Senior Vice President in the new MHC line up.

That move was undertaken as the MWHA was fully aware that the highly qualified Shamala, who is an elected member of the Asian Hockey Federation may be reduced to the Assistant Secretary position given the fact that the current MHF Secretary's relationship with Tengku Abdullah Sultan Ahmad Shah, the President of MHC. Thus MWHA has nominated a former player Nurfarha Hashim as the Assistant Secretary of MHC.

The other nominations from MWHA are Deputy President YM Raja Puan Sri Dato' Noora Ashikin bte Raja Abdullah, Vice Presidents (5): Jenniffer Williams, Maheswari Kanniah, Dato' Mary Ritchie, Nagula Sivasothy and Jeyadhevi Subramaniam.

For assistant treasurer MWHA has nominated Juriah Abdul Wahab Fenner while the two Independent Members Siti Patimah Hassan and Datin Noraini Jaafar.

It is learnt that Maninderjit together with Tengku Abdullah and influential Vice President Manjit Majid Abdullah held a discussion last Friday to discuss the composition of the 13 sub committees under MHC besides re-structuring the administration of the MHC office given that they two bodies will have a single administration.

Here is where the plot thickens as the likes of Manjit (coaching) Dato Nur Azmi Ahmad ( National Team Management), Dato Abdul Rahim Ariff (Competitions) and Ken Pereira (Development) hold vital committees which surely they will not be willing to let go.

The positions at sub committees at stake are Coaaching, Competitions, Development, Disciplinary, Finance, High Performance, Indoor, Legal and Special Projects, Marketing & Sponsorship, Medical, National Team Management Committee and Umpiring.

And the catch 22 situation for Tengku Abdullah will be the new MHC constitution that states - " Article 18.4.2 : Each Vice President shall be the Co-Chairman of at least one (1) Committee of MHC as decided by the Executive Board