Saturday, June 2, 2012


Armed Forces emerged champions of the National Indoor Tournament when they defeated Kuala Lumpur 3-1 on penalty strokes after being tied 4-4 at the end of regulation time at the Indera Mulia Stadium in Ipoh.

It was the first major title for Armed Forces since their Razak Cup triumph in 1982.

And in the women’s final, Malacca showed their class in romping to a 4-0 win over PDRM.

Malacca won the bronze in the men’s category while Penang were third in the womens category.

Both teams were presented with the Raja Dato Seri Ashman Trophies by FIH President Leandro Negre and HRH Sultan Azlan Shah.

Former international Chua Boon Huat was the unfortunate player to have missed the crucial stroke in the penalty stroke shoot out when his attempt bounced off the upright. Muhd Nurhafiz Jamil Azomi stepped up to put the ball past Mohd Fitri Jasni to give Armed Forces the title.

Armed Forces took the lead in the 2nd minute via Mohd Syafiq Yaacob. But the city side were on level terms in the 5th minute through Kevinder Singh. But Armed Forces went ahead again through Mohd Hanip Che Halim but Kevinder was on target seconds later to make it 2-2.

Chua made it 3-2 for KL in the 13th minute only for Syafiq to score two minutes later. A goal by Chua gave KL a 4-3 halftime lead. But Armed Forces never gave up and netted the equaliser 70 seconds from time off a penaltry stroke converted by Mohd Nurhafiz.

In the women’s final Malacca took the lead in the 11th minute through Nor Aisyah Yaacob. And in the 26th minute they were 2-0 up via Ayu Malina Zainuddin.

Awaratul Aisyah Yaacob made it 3-0 in the 30th minute before Nur Aisyah scored the fourth in the 40th minute, taking her tally in the tournament to 30 goals which ensures she finished as top scorer.

Roll of Honour


Champion: Armed Forces
Runner Up: Kuala Lumpur
Third: Malacca

Most Promising Player: Muhammad Najmi Farizal Jazlan (Perlis)
Man of the Match (Final): Chua Boon Huat (Kuala Lumpur)
Best Goalkeeper: Mohd Khairul Affendi Kamarulzaman (Armed Forces)
Top Goal Scorer: Mohd Anuar (Malacca)
Fairplay: Pahang


Champion: Malacca
Runner Up: PDRM
Third: Penang

Most Promising Player: Nurizwana Ahmad Tajuddin (Penang)
Man of the Match (Final): Ayu Malina Zainuddin (Malacca)
Best Goalkeeper: Nur Afiqah Omar (Malacca)
Top Goal Scorer: Ayu Malina Tajuddin (Malacca)
Fairplay: Johor