Sunday, September 16, 2012


Several Malaysian players are said to be heading for the Hockey India League that is sanctioned by FIH and expected to be held from January 3 to February 3.

In confirming this, Malaysian Hockey Confederation president Tengku Abdullah Sultan Ahmad Shah said the national coach Paul Revington is currently negotiating with the relevant parties.

"Some players will be playing in the Indian League and we will announce the names of the players in due course," revealed Tengku Abdullah in Kuantan on Saturday.

"This is a positive development and it is good for Malaysian hockey as the ability of our players is being recognized."

Revington said that the negotiation process was ongoing and was optimistic of the outcome.

"We are identifying the players and also who is available as well as hold discussions with their clubs here," said Revington.

"It is a perfect opportunity for players to gain experience."

Some 60 foreign players are expected to play for the 6 franchise clubs with 13 players from Pakistan already identified.

The bulk of the Australian national players with even coaches in the likes of Ric Charlesworth and Paul Gaudoin have been snapped up by the clubs.

In a related development, former national players Mohd Rodhanizam Mat Radzi and Robert Alacantra have been fined RM2,000 each following their participation in the unsanctioned Indian Hockey Federation league last March.

The duo were found guilty by the MHC Disciplinary Board that met on September 10 and both have indicated that they will appeal the decision that will see them facing suspensions if they fail to pay the fines.

Basic outline of the league: Tournament format: Home-and away basis No of teams: Franchises based in six cities Salary Cap: Each team will have Rs 3 crore cap Players prices: Four slabs of base prices on which the bidding starts.

Salary of foreign players: 10 percent of their auction price goes to country hockey federation, five percent to their clubs. (Indian players get a waiver)

Playing Conditions: Four quarters with couple of time-outs No of players: 24 per team (14 Indian and 10 foreign) Playing XI: Maximum of five foreign players Icon Players: Each franchise can have 6 marquee Indian and foreign players each.