Sunday, February 3, 2013


S.Thyagarajan (Mr. T to the hockey fraternity) was felicitated last week by the Directors and the Staff of THE HINDU Group for completing fifty years in sports journalism at the newspaper. 

He is currently the Deputy Sports Editor in the rank of an Associate Editor. Joining THE HINDU in 1962, he has covered various national and international tournaments with hockey as the main sport.
Thyagarajan has reported for THE HINDU and its sister puiblication, THE SPORTSTAR, on six Olympic Games (1984-2004), eight World Hockey Championships (1982-2010), eight Asian Games (1982-2010), Asian Championships (1985-2005) apart from a host of internationals including Champions Trophy, Azlan Shah Cup and over twenty National Championships. Besides hockey, he has reported international events, athletics, tennis, table tennis and badminton.
Mr. Thyagarajan is now heading the Media Commission of the Asian Hockey Federation. He was President of the Field Hockey Commission in the AIPS from 1998 to 2006 and also served as member of the Communication Committee of the International Hockey Federation (FIH) till it was disbanded two years ago. He was also a former President of the Sports Journalists Federation of India. (SJFI).