Saturday, March 30, 2013


Penang emerged champions of the MHC-MILO-NSC National Under 16 Tournament when they edged Selangor 3-2 at the Ministry of Education Stadium in Pantai this evening.

Selangor took the lead in the 7th minute through Syazwati Aznan and looked confident stroking the ball around.

Penang did not panic and created several moves to trouble the Selangor defense that held Tim with a spirited is play by skipper Elya Syahirah Elias.

But the islanders were not to be denied as Nur Aida Abdul Azim burst through the centre to slot past the Selangor keeper Farikhatul Aini Sam'an in the 10th minute for the equaliser.

Penang took the lead thanks to some fine work by Nur Aida who worked her way into the semi oracle from the right before laying up a pass for Nur Syamini Atiqah Hishamul Anuar to slot in from two meters out to give Penang the lead.

Penang were denied a legitimate penalty stroke when a Selangor defender threw her stick when the Penang player was about to take a shot. But to the amazement Umpire Ernawati awarded a penalty orner when it rightfully should have been a stroke.

Selangor started off the second half forcing two penalty corners in the opening minutes, But they failed to get a shot on goal, no thanks to their inability to adapt to the situation as their set pieces were in tatters.

But they eventually equalised in the 65th minute through Zafikah Zainuddin in the 65th minute.

However Penang hit back in the very next minute via Nur Atiqah Hazirah Mohd Ashr to lift the title.

Roll of Honour

Champions: Penang
Runner Up:Selangor
Third: Kuala Lumpur
Fourth: Perak

Fairplay: Terengganu
Player of the Tournament: Nur Izatul Syafikah Ahmad ( Selangor)
Player of the Final:L Nur Aida Abdul Azim (Penang)
Top Goal Scorer: Liyana Aqilah Mohd Sepawi ( Perak)
Best Goalkeeper: Syazwani Azam ( Penang)