Wednesday, January 9, 2013


The MHC-MILO-NSC Junior Hockey League gets underway on Thursday with a record number of 27 teams playing in two divisions. All states in the peninsular are represented but sadly teams from east Malaysia continue to stay out due to logistical issues. Though Sabah did submit their entry, they cried off at the 11th hour due to problems relating to the education of the players.

The MJHL was initiated in 1995, a joint effort by the NSC,Nestle and MHF then with key personalities in the likes of Dato Wira Mazlan Ahmad, Dato Dina Rizal and the late S. Satgunam coming up with the initiative to have a league for the juniors. And thanks to the foresight of these gentlemen, the league has grown from strength to strength over the years.