Tuesday, March 20, 2012


The national team has yet to land in Malaysia and the deafening silence from the Malaysian Hockey Confederation does not help things.

There is a three nation tournament in Lahore, Pakistan next month, from 9-13 April to be precise, and the two other teams are hosts Pakistan and India.

The National Sports Council are not aware of the tournament, as confirmed by NSC Director of Elite Division but the details of the tournament ha been released by the Pakistan Hockey Federation.

So the question that begs to be answered is just which team and officials are going for the tournament? Perhaps another junket in the offing?

Read the Hockey India release below:

Hockey India media release, selection trials for the team were conducted at SAI Centre, Bangalore on 16 and 17 March 2012 and the team was selected by HI selectors B.P Govinda and Syed Ali, along with Government Observer Harbinder Singh.

The team includes four players who represented India in the recently concluded Olympic Qualifiers in New Delhi, where India beat France in the final thus booking their London Olympic Games ticket.
India team for the Pakistan Tournament

P.T Rao
Nanak Singh

Rupinderpal Singh
Harbir Singh

Amit Rohidas

Gurbaj Singh (Captain)
Manpreet Singh (Vice-Captain)
Kothajit Singh Khadangbam
Gurmail Singh
M.B Aiyappa
S.K Uthappa
Dharamvir Singh
Nithin Thimmaiah

Chinglinsana Singh
Akashdeep Singh
Pradhan Somanna
P.L Thimmanna
M.G Poonacha

Rahul Shilpkar (Defender)
Stanley Victor Minz (Midfielder)
Rocky Lochab (Midfielder)
Mandeep Singh (Forward)

Mohd. N. Riaz (Coach)
B.J Kariappa (Coach)
Dr. Umesh T.N (Doctor)
Harishankar (Video Analyst)
Ripudaman Sharma (Umpire)
Anupam Ghulati (Administrative Manager)
Rajeev Mehta (Manager)