Sunday, November 25, 2012


 Kuala Lumpur successfully defended their MHC-MILO-NSC-MOE Natioanl Under 14 title when they edged Johor 3-2 in extra time in a closely contested final at the Seremban 2 Hockey Stadium.

It was an exciting final, befitting the status of the two teams that were the most consistent teams in the tournament.

Kuala Lumpur have thus won the Milo Trophy for the 6th consecutive time, since its inception in 2007, a feat that is unlikely to be matched by others for years to come.

Kuala Lumpur took the lead in the 22nd minute through Fallah Hassan Shahrom Jamil.

But Johor were undeterred and found the equaliser a minute before halftime via Muhamad Haikal Safaruddin who converted a penalty corner.

However despite playing better, Johor were unlucky as they failed to make use of the chances and KL went ahead once again in the 60th minute with Kavinash Panicker Thevendran finding space to slot in.

Just when KL thought they had clinched the title, Johor found the equaliser two minutes from time throughMuhammad Shafiq Hassan to take the match to sudden death extra time.

And Kuala Lumpur’s Wan haziq Hisyamuddin Wan Ameer Ruzman scored a gem of a goal five minutes into extra time to give the city side the title.

“We were fortunate to win as Johor finished the match stronger. I told my players at the end of regulation time to be patient and no to take risks,” said KL coach Mohd Madzli Ikmar.

“And when the opportunity presented itself, Wan Haziq scored with a beauty. Even I could not have finished that well.

“It is a great moment for us and retaining the trophy is always difficult. I am proud of my players.”

In the match to determine the bronze, hosts Negri Sembilan edged Perak 3-2 in extra time.

Perak took a 2-0 lead within the first 6 minutes through Muhammad Najmi Hayazi (3rd minute) and Syed Muhammad Syakir Syed Cholam (6th minute).

Negri fought gallantly and were on level terms through Muhammad Hilmi Hairuddin (18th minute) and Mahathir Rathuwan (34th minute).


3/4 Placing

Negri Sembilan 3 Perak 2 (after extra time)


Kuala Lumpur 3 Johor 2 (after extra time)

Roll of Honour

Champions: Kuala Lumpur

Runner Up: Johor

Third: Negri Sembilan

Fourth: Perak

Fair Play: Malacca
Top Scorer: Mohd Najmi Hayazi (Perak)

Best Goalkeeper: George Dylan De Silva (Johor)

Man of the Match (Final): Fallah Hassan Shahrom Jamil (Kuala Lumpur)

Most Promising Player: Mahathir Rathuwan (Negri Sembilan)